Boston Broadside
January/February 2002
Vol. 59,  No. 3
    Newsletter of the Boston Chapter of the Society for Technical Communication


Copyright © STC Boston 2002

Society Highlights

By Shiuwan Cheung

The STC Nominating Committee has announced the preliminary slate of candidates for Society office. The election will be held in early 2002. Induction takes place in May 2002 during the STC's 49th Annual Conference in Nashville, Tenn.

Nominations by petition are also being accepted. Petition nominations can be submitted by any STC member. For a candidate to be nominated by petition, the STC office must receive the following forms by 4 p.m. EST on January 15, 2002:

  • Candidate's signed statement of availability

  • Petition containing the required number of signatures as described above

  • Candidate's biographical information and statements

  • Candidate's portrait photo, preferably 5 by 7 inches

All candidates must be senior members of the Society by the time the Board of Directors is inducted at the STC Annual Conference.

All candidates must respond to the question "What assets (ideas, traits, experiences) will you bring to this STC office?" A candidate for Second Vice President must also respond to the question "What do you think is the most important issue or problem facing the Society today?"

In keeping with the provisions of the bylaws, petitions for Second Vice President or Treasurer must have 400 signatures; petitions for Region 1 Director-Sponsor must have 166 signatures; petitions for Region 5 Director-Sponsor must have 95 signatures; and petitions for Region 7 Director-Sponsor must have 121 signatures.

Copies of the statement of availability, instructions for writing the biography, and other materials regarding the election are available from the Society office:

Society for Technical Communication
Attention: Nominations
901 N. Stuart Street, Suite 904
Arlington, VA 22203-1822
(703) 522-4114
(703) 522-2075 (fax)

Preliminary Slate of Candidates

Office Candidate
President* Edward J. See
First Vice President* Thea Teich
Second Vice President* Andrea L. Ames
Suzanna Laurent
Secretary Guy K. Haas
(Two-Year Term) Andrew Malcolm

*The STC Bylaws specify that the Second Vice President automatically becomes First Vice President the following year and President the year after that. Thus, Second Vice President is the highest office to which a member is routinely elected.


One Director-Sponsor will be elected from each region listed, each for a three-year term.

Region Candidate
1 Jonathan W. Baker
Donna A. Ford
5 Thomas P. Barnett
Linda L. Oestreich
7 Rahel Anne Bailie
Garret H. Romaine

Nominating Committee

The members of this year's Nominating Committee are:

  • Ernest D. Mazzatenta (manager), Carolina Foothills chapter
  • Clark E. Beck, Southwestern Ohio chapter
  • John V. Hedtke, Puget Sound chapter
  • Gwaltney Mountford, East Bay chapter
  • Deirdre A. Murr, San Fernando Valley chapter